Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Florida

Drug laws and marijuana regulations are continually changing, so it can be difficult for Florida residents to keep up with what’s allowed and what’s not. As of February 2019, marijuana is still illegal for recreational use throughout the state, though it can be used medicinally in some cases. As such, being found in possession of even a small amount of marijuana is a punishable offense, regardless of previous criminal history.

In the state of Florida, being found in possession of less than 20 grams of cannabis is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by fines and a maximum prison sentence of one year. Having between 20 grams and 25 pounds is a third-degree felony, which can land you large fines and up to five years in prison. Being discovered with more than 25 pounds of marijuana (or more than 300 plants) is considered drug trafficking, which is a first-degree felony punishable by maximum fines of $10,000 and as many as 30 years in prison.

In addition to prison time and large fines, a criminal drug conviction can damage your personal, professional and financial life. Being charged with a drug crime is no laughing matter, even if your charges are “merely” possession-related. Anytime you encounter legal trouble for marijuana possession, it’s vital to seek representation and get an experienced attorney on your side immediately.

If you have been arrested for, charged with, or accused of marijuana possession, contact the Law Office of Joseph Cerino. We are here to provide you with the representation and trustworthy guidance you need.

Written by

The law office of Joseph Cerino handles all matters of litigation, concentrating in family law including divorce, custody, child support, paternity, alimony, property division and domestic violence, as well as, criminal defense and appeals in Southwest Florida.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a reply